Nautical Chart / Marine Chart

AUS 238

Brisbane River
AUS 238 - Brisbane River

Please note that all charts are nominally folded in half for storage and handling as per the marine industries standard.
If you require an unfolded copy (ie: flat for framing), please select Flat Paper, and we will organise a special print service to accomodate your request.


This official Nautical Chart is produced by the Australian Hydrographic Office, and corrected fortnightly to 'Notice to Marines' by Cairns Charts & Maps. This ensures it remains compliance with Safety of Navigation requirements. This marine chart, or 'sea map', is primarily produced to support the safe navigation of commercial shipping through Australian, Papua New Guinea and Solomon Island waters.

Nautical charts depict the seabed, or bathymetry, using a variety of colours to shade the depth regions. Darker blues indicate shallower water, while light blues and white indicate deeper water. A chart will also show continuous contour lines (at varying intervals depending on the scale of the chart), 'spot depths' across the whole area, as well as different symbols indicating wrecks, shallow rocks and dangers, as well as details on lights, light houses, tides and currents.

For extensive detail on the symbology of nautical charts, the Symbols and Abbreviations used on Admiralty Charts is the definitive reference.

Locations within this Map

Brisbane Albion Aquarium Passage Ascot Bartleys Hill Bomparpin Swamp Bowen Hills Breakfast Creek Bridge Point Brunswick Street Bulimba Creek Bulimba Point Bulimba Reach Bunour Cameron Rocks Cannon Hill Carlton Hill Central Clayfield Clunie Flats Colmslie Coxen Point Doboy Doomben Eagle Junction Enoggera Creek Exhibition Fortitude Valley Galloways Hill Gibson Island Hamilton Reach Hemmant Hendra Humbug Reach Kalinga Kangaroo Point Kedron Brook Lindum Lytton Reach Mayne Meeandah Merthyr Montpelier Morningside Murarrie New Farm Norman Park Norris Point North Brisbane Oondoor Cannowa Parker Island Pashen Creek Pendle Perrin Creek Petrie Bight Pinkenba Quarries Reach Queensport Shafston Reach South Brisbane Reach Spring Hill Teneriffe Thynne Toombul Toorak Hill Town Reach Whinstanes Windsor Wooloowin Kianowa Swamp Cairncross Rocks City Gordon Park South Bank Bulimba Seven Hills South Brisbane Albion Brisbane City Ascot Brisbane City Hamilton Herston Balmoral Hawthorne Tingalpa Lutwyche Minnippi Creek Newstead Kedron Kedron Brook Upper Lytton Cutting Bulwer Island Bulwer Wall Quarantine Flats Reach Lytton Cutting Lytton Wall Eagle Farm Eagle Farm Reach Toorak Pinkenba Cutting Eagle Farm Flats Cutting Doboy Wall Parker Island Wall Coxen Point Wall Gateway Bridge Hamilton Wall Doboy Bridge OReilly Hill Mayne Junction Brunswick Street Station Brunswick Ashgrove Hamilton Reach Cutting Quarries Reach Cutting Parker Island Cutting Doughboy Creek Story Bridge Petrie Bright Central Station Norris Reach New Farm Park Kingsholm Norman Creek