Nautical Chart / Marine Chart

AUS 4603

North Coast And Adjacent Waters
AUS 4603 - North Coast And Adjacent Waters

Please note that all charts are nominally folded in half for storage and handling as per the marine industries standard.
If you require an unfolded copy (ie: flat for framing), please select Flat Paper, and we will organise a special print service to accomodate your request.


This official Nautical Chart is produced by the Australian Hydrographic Office, and corrected fortnightly to 'Notice to Marines' by Cairns Charts & Maps. This ensures it remains compliance with Safety of Navigation requirements. This marine chart, or 'sea map', is primarily produced to support the safe navigation of commercial shipping through Australian, Papua New Guinea and Solomon Island waters.

Nautical charts depict the seabed, or bathymetry, using a variety of colours to shade the depth regions. Darker blues indicate shallower water, while light blues and white indicate deeper water. A chart will also show continuous contour lines (at varying intervals depending on the scale of the chart), 'spot depths' across the whole area, as well as different symbols indicating wrecks, shallow rocks and dangers, as well as details on lights, light houses, tides and currents.

For extensive detail on the symbology of nautical charts, the Symbols and Abbreviations used on Admiralty Charts is the definitive reference.

Locations within this Map

North Banda Osprey Papua Rowley Savu Seram South Banda South Makassar Weber Arafura Argo Aru Bali Bone Boot Bougainville Carnegie Clerke Flinders Flora Flores Geelvinck Hibernia Holmes Imperieuse Lombok Makassar McDermott Mermaid New Guinea Ashmore and Cartier Is Ashmore and Cartier Islands Western Fly Australia Northern Territory Western Australia Queensland Coral Sea Islands Kalimantan Timur Kaltim Indonesia Penida Lembongan Ceningan Menjangan Jawa Timur Jatim Kalimantan Selatan Kalsel Nusa Tenggara Timur NTT Sulawesi Selatan Sulsel Sulawesi Barat Kalimantan Tengah Kalteng Irian Jaya Barat New Guinea Yos Sudarso or Frederick Hendrik Waigeo Supiori Biak Yapen Misool Salawati Batanta Maluku Utara Malut Maluku Molucas Moluccas Molucche Moluckerna Moluqu Nusa Tenggara Barat NTB Sulawesi Tenggara Sultra Sulawesi Tengah Sulteng Enga Papua New Guinea East Sepik Madang Sandaun West Sepik Chimbu Simbu Eastern Highlands Planalto Oriental Gulf Southern Highlands Western Highlands Planalto Ocidental Central Manus Morobe National Capital District Northern Oro West New Britain Nova Bretanha Ocidental Nuova Britannia Occidentale Dili Dilli East Timor Liquica Likisia Ambeno Ambino Oecussi Aileu Alieau Ainaro Baucau Baukau Bobonaro Cova Lima Covalima Kova-Lima Ermera Manatuto Manufahi Viqueque Vikeke Lautem