Nautical Chart / Marine Chart

AUS 700

Western Approaches To Torres Strait
AUS 700 - Western Approaches To Torres Strait

Please note that all charts are nominally folded in half for storage and handling as per the marine industries standard.
If you require an unfolded copy (ie: flat for framing), please select Flat Paper, and we will organise a special print service to accomodate your request.

The full Australia Hydrographic Office index of products is available at the Australia Chart, ENC and Publication Index.

This official Nautical Chart is produced by the Australian Hydrographic Office, and corrected fortnightly to 'Notice to Marines' by Cairns Charts & Maps. This ensures it remains compliance with Safety of Navigation requirements. This marine chart, or 'sea map', is primarily produced to support the safe navigation of commercial shipping through Australian, Papua New Guinea and Solomon Island waters.

Nautical charts depict the seabed, or bathymetry, using a variety of colours to shade the depth regions. Darker blues indicate shallower water, while light blues and white indicate deeper water. A chart will also show continuous contour lines (at varying intervals depending on the scale of the chart), 'spot depths' across the whole area, as well as different symbols indicating wrecks, shallow rocks and dangers, as well as details on lights, light houses, tides and currents.

For extensive detail on the symbology of nautical charts, the Symbols and Abbreviations used on Admiralty Charts is the definitive reference.

Locations within this Map

Thursday Island Injinoo Wasaga Rose Hill Aplin Pass Bampfield Head Banda Rock Barn Island Battery Point Beresford Shoals Biffin Creek Big Buttertin Beach Black Rock Boat Channel Booby Island Bradford Creek Bramble Channel Bramble Patches Brewster Reef Brisbane Rock Burster Creek Canoe Island Cardale Patch Carpentaria Shoal Channel Island Channel Rock Chapman Reef Cheropo Island Cook Reef Coral Patch Cape Cornwall Cowal Cowal Creek Crab Island Crystal Creek Dayman Channel Devonshire Rock Duff Rock Dumaralug Island Durand Eagle Rock Ellis Channel Endeavour Strait Entrance Island Fantome Reef Flinders Passage Friday Island Friday Passage Gerard Bank Ghibber Rock Gibson Rock Goods Island Green Hill Greenant Hill Hammond Island Hammond Rock Harrison Rock Hawkesbury Island Hawkesbury Reefs Heath Point Heroine Rock Hochepied Head Hood Bank Horn Island Horned Hill Horned Point Hovell Rock Ichera Head Ince Point Inskip Banks Ipili Reef Jardine River Jardine Rock Kapuda Islet King Point Kunai Islet Larpent Bank Port Lihou Little Beach Little Woody Island Loggan Creek Long Beach Long Reef Madge Reef Marie Rock Mecca Reef Menmuir Point Merkara Shoal Milman Hill Mission Hill Mousy Creek Muralug Mutee Head Nardana Patches Nereid Rocks Normanby Sound North Torres Reef North West Islet North West Reef Packe Island Papou Point Pearl Rock Peebles Shoals Peile Reef Pilot Knoll Port Kennedy Port Lihou Island Pott Point Prince of Wales Island Prince of Wales Channel Proudfoot Shoal Pullar Patches Pullar Rock Pym Point Quoin Point Race Rock Rattlesnake Point Red Banks Red Point Red Wallis Island Rothsay Banks Round Island Sanamere Creek Shadwell Point Sherard Osborn Point Simpson Channel Slade Slade Point Smith Point Smyth Creek South Torres Reef Spencer Island Spencer Rock Spring Creek Stonehenge Sunk Reefs Sunshine Point Tamwoy Terry Beach Tessy Head The Jardine Swamps Torres Tucker Point Tuesday Islets Tuft Rock Turtle Island Van Spoult Head Varzin Shoal Vivien Point Vrilya Point Wai-Weer Islet Wallis Banks Warra-Wong Creek Webb Point Wednesday Island Wednesday Spit West Island West Shoal West Wai Weer Reef White Rocks Woody Wallis Island Yule Channel Yule Point Round Island Conservation Park Prince of Wales Horn Double Hill Bruce Point Gainaulai Islet Scott Rock Varzin Passage Muknab Rock Ului Island Squat Rock Torres Strait Torres Strait Islands Hood Reef Turtle Head Aade Herald Patches Maururra Hammond Islands Keriri Number Three Islet No 3 Islet Flinders Pass Number One Islet No 1 Islet Number Four Islet No 4 Islet Hester Hill Pig Hill Goode Island Palilug Diamond Point Bertie Bay Wanetta Powell Point Hovell Bar West Wai-Weer Reef Kate Point Wai-ben Normandy Sound Kunai Island Wilkie Bank Thursday Island Harbour Normanby Sound Ledge Kiwain Point Gannet Passage Madge Reefs Holmes Reef Narupai The Gut Bogan Banks Bold Hill Garagar Point Bampfield Meggi-Yelubi Island Despair Djuna Tarilug Point Lihou Point Libou Peebles Shoal Parau Island Red Wallis Islet Cowal Creek Mission Station Van Speult Point Mutee Mission Mutee Mission Station Ichera Point Jardine Swamps Mousey Creek