Nautical Chart / Marine Chart

AUS 720

Van Diemen Gulf
AUS 720 - Van Diemen Gulf

Please note that all charts are nominally folded in half for storage and handling as per the marine industries standard.
If you require an unfolded copy (ie: flat for framing), please select Flat Paper, and we will organise a special print service to accomodate your request.


This official Nautical Chart is produced by the Australian Hydrographic Office, and corrected fortnightly to 'Notice to Marines' by Cairns Charts & Maps. This ensures it remains compliance with Safety of Navigation requirements. This marine chart, or 'sea map', is primarily produced to support the safe navigation of commercial shipping through Australian, Papua New Guinea and Solomon Island waters.

Nautical charts depict the seabed, or bathymetry, using a variety of colours to shade the depth regions. Darker blues indicate shallower water, while light blues and white indicate deeper water. A chart will also show continuous contour lines (at varying intervals depending on the scale of the chart), 'spot depths' across the whole area, as well as different symbols indicating wrecks, shallow rocks and dangers, as well as details on lights, light houses, tides and currents.

For extensive detail on the symbology of nautical charts, the Symbols and Abbreviations used on Admiralty Charts is the definitive reference.

Locations within this Map

Abbott Shoal Adam Bay Adam Head Adelaide River Aiton Bay Andrews Point Ann Shoals Ant Cliff Aralaij Beach Ayers Point Barbara Shoal Barron Island Barrow Bay Bath Creek Baxendell Reef Bay Hill Beagle Shoals Beatrice Bay Beatrice Reef Beatrice Rock Bellyungardy Spring Bill Shoal Black Rock Bluff Point Broad Reach Buffalo River Burford Island Cairncurry Plain Camp Point Cape Hotham Cape Hotham Conservation Reserve Cape Hotham Forest Reserve Cape Hotham Lighthouse Cape Keith Carrew Spring Chambers Bay Christine Reef Cobham Bay Cobourg Cobourg Marine Park Conder Point Cooper Creek Copeland Island Craven Patches Croker Island Barge Landing Culaly Plain Cunningham Channel Damoger Draytons Reef Dundas Strait Earl River East Alligator River East Bay Elizabeth Reef Elsie Creek Endyalgout Island Escape Cliffs Escape Cliffs Historical Reserve Escape Cliffs Settlement Field Island Finke Bay Fitzpatrick Shoal Giles Shoal Greenhill Island Guialung Point Gunberdel Hart Point High Black Rock Hinkler Patches Hotham Howard Knoll Hunt Patch Ida Creek Ilamaryi River Irgul Point Iwalg Creek Kakadu National Park Karr-Alada Brook Killuppa Spring Knocker Bay Love Creek Majirli Mangrove Point Margaret Shoal Mataram Shoal Meander River Middle Bank Middle Head Midnight Point Mindi Brook Minimini Creek Minto Head Mogogout Island Morse Island Mount Bedwell Mount Hooper Mount Roe Mountnorris Bay Murgenella Creek Myaranjie Spring Napier Bay Nihill Patch Ningalaye Brook North Ridge Ommaney Shoal Pheasant Brook Pococks Beach Point David Point Farewell Point Stuart Port Daly Pulloloo Bay Red Cliff Renard Shoal Rooper Rock Ruby Island Salt Water Arm Salt Water Creek Saltwater Arm Boat Ramp Sampan Creek Saunders Creek Shamrock Bay Shark Bay Silvid Bay Sir George Hope Islands Soldier Point South Alligator River Stephens Bank Stuarts Tree Stuart's Tree Historical Reserve Swim Creek Taiyuan Shoal Taylor Patches The Deep The Narrows Thrings Creek Tinganoo Bay Tommycut Creek Two Hills Bay Van Diemen Gulf Victoria Settlement Victoria Shoal Wangarlu Bay Wangewanja Cove Wangoindjung Island Warigili Point Warla Island Warldagawaji Island Webb Point Wells Shoal West Alligator Head West Alligator River West Bay White Lily Waterhole Wildman River Wilshire Creek Wirrunga Wunmiyi Island Wurgurlu Bay Johnston River Tuanungku River Record Point Cobourg Peninsula Coburg Peninsula Wangewanga Cove Wanjewanja Cove Silvio Bay Tapar-arimi Mount Bedford Two Hill Bay Ommanney Shoals Ommaney Shoals May Day Island Muripiunga Antrimpinyni Iwaig Creek Nimuapi Renard Shoals Mount Walter Jarnatuwu Tungandu Abbot Shoal Murgeneua Creek Farewell Point East River Escape Cliff Point Stephens Point Stevens Stuart Point West River Stuarts Tree Historical Reserve South River